The 18th KIAS-APCTP Winter School on Statistical Physics
January 11 (Mon), 2021 ~ January 15 (Fri), 2021
■ Main Page
    Venue | Period
    Online (Zoom live streaming) | January 11 ~ 15, 2021

    Statistical mechanics provides a powerful tool for understanding macroscopic systems on the basis of microscopic laws governing the dynamics of their constituents. Its ever-increasing use is not limited to physical sciences but extends to as diverse subjects as biological and social sciences. This annual event is intended to provide graduate students and early-career scientists in statistical physics and related disciplines with the conceptual framework and analytical tools for advanced studies in statistical physics and interdisciplinary research. 

    Thematic focus of the 18th School is the Kinetic Models in Statistical Physics. 15 hours of lectures by three invited lecturers will be devoted to learn the basic primer and the canonical working problems of kinetic models in statistical physics. The attending students will undertake a hands-on group project on the subjects, in order to make the School more engaging. Three lecture series (5 hours each) will be given under the tentative titles: 
    - A Primer on Kinetic Models in Statistical Physics (BK)
    - Anomalous Diffusions (JHJ)
    - Epidemic Spreading Theory (BM)

    In addition, there will be two 1.5-hr topical seminars, featuring some of the latest development of statistical physics and its applications. Seminars will be given under the tentative titles:
    - Eigenstate Thermalization Hypothesis and Fluctuation-Dissipation Theorem (JDN)
    - Dissecting Landscape Art History with Information Theory (HJ)

    For pedagogical purpose, all the Lectures and Seminars will be delivered in Korean. 

    Byungnam Kahng (Seoul National University)
    Jae-Hyung Jeon (POSTECH)
    Byungjoon Min (Chungbuk National University)

    Seminar Speakers
    Jae Dong Noh (University of Seoul)
    Hawoong Jeong (KAIST)

    Kwang-Il Goh (Korea University; kgoh_at_korea_dot_ac_dot_kr)
    Hyunggyu Park (KIAS)
    Cheol-Min Ghim (UNIST & APCTP)
    Beom Jun Kim (SungKyunKwan University)

    Yeyoung Kim (yeyoung.kim_at_apctp_dot_org)
    JeongEun Yoon (avecyoon_at_kias_dot_re_dot_kr)