• JRG

    JRG - Junior Research Groups

    주요사업내역을 안내해드립니다.

    Magnetized Plasma Physics and Astrophysics

    Group Introduction

    Magnetized plasmas are ubiquitous in the Universe, with examples being astrophysical jets and accretion disks, the solar corona, the solar wind, planetary magnetospheres, and the interstellar medium. Our research group focuses on three distinct processes that characterize the lifetime of a magnetized plasma: generation of magnetic fields, relaxation of plasma systems, and explosion resulting from magnetic to wave/kinetic energy conversion. The resultant fundamental aspects are relevant to next-generation laboratory plasma systems such as nuclear fusion devices and particle accelerators.

    Theoretical frameworks that describe magnetized plasmas can be divided into four main branches, in order of increasing accuracy and decreasing simplicity: (i) magneto-hydrodynamics (MHD), (ii) multi-fluid description, (iii) Vlasov-Maxwell or Boltzmann description, and (iv) single-particle description. We use all four frameworks as needed, choosing the most appropriate model for the system in question. We perform numerical simulations to verify our models, and compare them to observations and/or experiments if possible.  


    • Professor Yoon received his BSc from Imperial College London in 2014, and then his M.S. and Ph.D. from California Institute of Technology in 2020. He then worked as a postdoctoral researcher at Pohang Accelerator Laboratory for two years. He joined APCTP as a Junior Research Group Leader in 2022. He is the recipient of the 2021 PIURI Postdoctoral Fellowship, the 2022 POSCO Science Fellowship, and the 2022 U30 Scientist and Student Award from AAPPS-DPP. He is also a Career Mentoring Fellow at the American Physical Society.


    • Modhuchandra LAISHRAM

      Modhuchandra LAISHRAM

      • 054-279-1417


      • 521



    Major Publications